In this post I am going to talk a little about how I have ‘revolutionised’ my painting area this weekend. Firstly a picture of the setup I have been using for the last couple of years…

This old desk has been with me for the best part of a decade, even travelling back to my parents house when I was made redundant and went back to college. It cost 15 quid from the charity shop and although very tatty, was money well spent.

In the future I hope to sell my house and move in with my girlfriend, eventually sorting her house out for sale and buying one together. When this happens I will have to put most of my ‘rubbish’ in to storage in the attic. However, she does understand the need to accommodate a ‘man-cave’ for me to paint in and even with space being at a premium in her 2-bed terrace, she has been kind enough to let me have a corner to set something up when the big move finally happens.

In return I looked for a piece of furniture which not only gives me an area which I can paint at, but also stores all my painting and modelling ‘gubbins’ out of sight, so as not to spoil her ‘shabby chic’ decor…

This should fit in well enough with my girlfriend’s decor (she’s ok’d it at least)…

When its opened-up I have more storage and working space than before. There’s even a light that comes on when the lid comes down…

More storage underneath…

And the pièce de résistance… A felt lined drawer in which I can store finished, in-progress and test miniatures.

 

