Tags

, , , ,

After a little trip to my local model shop the other day, I picked up some terrain for my French & Indian War project. As well as two pre-made trees, I picked up two packs of Woodland Scenics tree armatures along with a bag of light green clump foliage and pack of dead fall.

As I mentioned in my previous post, I have decided to go for an Autumn/Fall theme for my terrain but, unfortunately, I couldn’t get hold of the Autumn clump foliage. I remedied this after a quick search on eBay, and a bag of Autumn foliage should be winging its way to me as I write, however, I simply couldn’t wait to get a few ready for my next game, so I went with a couple of green trees for the time being.

IMG_0800

Now these tree armatures are great! They come in the bag as a flat, 2D tree shape which can be twisted and bent into a realistic shape before applying the clump foliage. The tree to the left was firstly undercoated white and painted with GW Charadon Granite to give a white bark effect which looks rather well if I do say so myself!

The bases are made from 3mm mdf that was roughly cut into circles, which I then drilled a hole in the centre of to accommodate the plug at the bottom of the trees. They were then painted and covered in flock and fallen leaves, along with the odd fallen log.

