I have been a little quiet over the last couple of weeks but it hasn’t been my fault!?… honest! The blame lies squarely on the 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi.

how_to_watch_sochi_2014_stream_online

I have been a fan of the Winter Olympics for a very long time and an even bigger fan of the sport of ice hockey, so the BBC’s coverage of this years Olympics has been a staple on my computer the last fortnight. And what a games it has been! apparently this years cost more than all the others put together!!

As for the ice hockey, what a tournament!! I was rooting for Canada and they didn’t disappoint with a brilliant comeback against team USA in the women’s final and total dominance over Sweden in the men’s.

0224-oly-cole-hockey

Sweden’s goalie Henrik Lundqvist couldn’t shut-out the Canadian juggernaut

image

Canada’s ladies brandish their new jewellery

I was also more than impressed with the Finland men’s team and was happy to see them bag the Bronze medal after giving team USA a lesson in how its done! (I can’t help but wonder how good the final might have been had Finland faced off against Canada)

zW2r7_St_84

Teemu Selanne embodies the Finish team.
All hard work and spirit!

Team Great Britain did well with medals in the skeleton, curling and snowboarding but my sympathies go out to Elise Christie who was penalised in every short track speed-skating event she took part in! I’m no expert in this discipline but it seemed a little unfair to me. Hopefully she will come back and get the medals next time in Pyeongchang 2018.

short-track-speed-skating-winter-20140221-174929-959

Heartbreak for Elise Christie after some phenomenal skating in both the 1000 and 1500 metres. That girl can put on a burst of speed when she needs to!!

